Don’t let greed and special interests destroy patient access and compassionate care.

Call To Action

Today, Friday, August 14, 2015
Call Sacramento To Protect Patients and Providers
Senate Appropriations Committee Phone: (916) 651-4101
Talking Points Below

The California legislature resumes next week and the Senate Committee on Appropriations will hear AB 266 on Monday, August 17, 2015.  Bill text –

AB 266 dismantles SB 420, supports bans and undermines access for low-income patients.

Concerned patients can tell the Committee that Assembly Bill 266 harms patients and you OPPOSE the bill until amended.  Amendments must include:
1.  Strengthening protections for patient collective and cooperative cultivation,
2.  End bans on authentic patient dispensaries, and
3.  No legal protections for coercive monopolies like the special carve out for Los Angeles’ Measure D.

FBI: Marijuana Union Organizer Took Bribes, Rigged Process

Public opposition to AB 266 is on record from the ACLU, Axis of Love San Francisco, Fresno Patients Group and attorneys representing dispensaries violated by Measure D.


Just The FAX

If you can’t make a call today (Friday), please FAX your note this weekend to the Senate Appropriations Committee Chair Ricardo Lara at FAX: (916) 651-4933.

Every voice makes a huge difference.  Don’t let greed and special interests destroy patient access and compassionate care.

More information below.


There are numerous marijuana bills in the 2015 California legislative session.  A search at will reveal 27 marijuana bills and 12 cannabis bills for this session.   These bills regulate or control dispensaries, physicians, banking, cultivation on public lands, water protection, e-cigarettes and concentrate production.

Many of these bills have been combined and some have already passed and been sign.  However, the bills to watch are below with AB 266 being the one that most affects patients and providers.

AB 243 – Wood –  Referred to Senate Committee on Appropriations – to be heard August 17, 2015, with urgency

AB 266 – Bonta – Referred to Senate Committee on Appropriations – to be heard August 17, 2015

SB 643 – McGuire – Referred to Assembly Committee on Appropriations – next hearing on August 19, 2015, but this item not yet on agenda, could change

AJR 25 – Lackey – Referred to Assembly Committee on Banking and Finance 7/2/15

RE: AB 243 and AB 266

Members of the Senate Standing Committee on Appropriations :
Senator Ricardo Lara (Chair)
Senator Patricia Bates (Vice Chair)
Senator Jim Beall
Senator Jerry Hill
Senator Connie Leyva
Senator Tony Mendoza
Senator Jim Nielsen

Senate Standing Committee on Appropriations Committee meets every Monday at 10:00 A.M. in Room 4203.

Contact Information
Senate Appropriations Committee
State Capitol, Room 2206
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4101

Senate Appropriations Committee Staff
Consultants: Robert Ingenito, Jillian Kissee, Marie Liu, Brendan McCarthy, Jolie Onodera, Maureen Ortiz

RE: SB 634

Members of the Assembly Committee on Appropriations :
Jimmy Gomez (Chair)
Frank Bigelow (Vice Chair)
Richard Bloom
Rob Bonta
Ian C. Calderon
Ling Ling Chang
Tom Daly
Susan Talamantes Eggman
James Gallagher
Eduardo Garcia
Chris R. Holden
Brian W. Jones
Bill Quirk
Anthony Rendon
Donald P. Wagner
Shirley N. Weber
Jim Wood

Assembly Appropriations Committee will meet Wednesday, August 19, 2015, at 8 a.m. – State Capitol, Room 4202. (SB 643 does not yet appear on the agenda but could be added at anytime by author.)

Contact Information
Assembly Appropriations Committee
State Capitol, Room 2114
Sacramento, California 95814
916.319.2081 phone
916.319.2181 fax

Assembly Appropriations Committee Staff
Pedro R. Reyes, Chief Consultant (Public Safety, Veterans)
Chuck Nicol, Deputy Chief Consultant (Elections, Higher Education, Judiciary, Transportation)
Misty Feusahrens, Principal Consultant (K-12 Education, Labor)
Jennifer Galehouse, Principal Consultant (Environmental Safety, Natural Resources, Utilities and Commerce)
Lisa Murawski, Principal Consultant (Health and Insurance)
Jennifer Swenson, Principal Consultant (Human Services, Local and General Government)
Joel Tashjian, Principal Consultant (Agriculture, Finance, Governmental Org., PERSS)


RE: AJR 25

Members of the Assembly Committee on Banking and Finance :
Matthew Dababneh (Chair)
Travis Allen (Vice Chair)
Katcho Achadjian
Cheryl R. Brown
Ed Chau
Mike Gatto
David Hadley
Young O. Kim
Evan Low
Henry T. Perea
Sebastian Ridley-Thomas
Mark Stone

Assembly Banking and Finance Committee currently lists no upcoming hearings.

Contact Information
Assembly Banking and Finance Committee
1020 N Street, Room 360B
Sacramento, California 95814
916.319.3081 phone
916.319.3181 fax

Assembly Banking and Finance Committee Staff
Mark Farouk, Chief Consultant
Kathleen O’Malley, Principal Consultant
Tiffany Morrison, Committee Secretary


100% of PAN’s support comes from patient contributions.  Please make a tax-deductible donation to PAN today.  We can’t do this work without you.  Thanks!


Degé Coutee
President, Executive & Program Director
Patient Advocacy Network

(323) 334-5282
P.O. Box 93845, Los Angeles, CA 90093


PAN is a charitable 501(c)(3) organization

Our website provides our patients with information on our various strains and educates each individual with current medical marijuana facts and laws.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *